Hey, first time posting!!

by Harry-Crapper 24 Replies latest jw friends

• Harry-Crapper
    Harry-Crapper

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting. I'm not a JW but my wife was (is) whatever, and I wanted to get the skinny from you guys. We dont really have issues between the two of us but quite honestly I havent seen anything to make me feel like this is really the "truth." I guess the biggest issue I have is: why change the Bible?

Harry

• gumby
    gumby

Hey ya damn crapper.....welcome!

I guess the biggest issue I have is: why change the Bible?

Good question harry. The problem is the bible is written in such a way that people feel justified in how they interpret it. Everyone who follows this book can use it as a reason for why they believe the way they do.

By you spending a little time here and reading various posts you will learn some things you never knew.....that is unless you already know everything as I do

Nice to have you and take care,

Gumby

• Big Tex
    Big Tex

Howdy Harry and Welcome!!

• Gamaliel
    Gamaliel

Welcome. Sounds like your wife might not be taking it too seriously. That's a good thing, because there is plenty to learn about the JWs that most JWs don't know. But you have to tread carefully on the negative stuff, because JWs seem to get very defensive to the point of ignoring you for life, if you try to make them think they might be wrong.

As far as changing the Bible, they'll swear on the Bible that they didn't. (Well actually they tend not to swear, especially on Bibles, as you might already know.) They believe they fixed the Bible. It's not really a terribly big change, but they have a few of their own ideas that work out a lot better with their own slant. Truth is, though, there's lots of different translations of the Bible, and theirs is just one more out of hundreds. It's not all good, and not all bad. What's worse is most of the stuff they make up that isn't even their own Bible.