confused

by free will 12 Replies latest jw friends

• free will
    free will

hello all. i'm a newbie who has recently admitted to myself that 'the truth' isn't the truth. i'm struggling with my new found freedom. i don't know what truths i should believe anymore. my biggie is how do i worship jehovah now. i was raised a jw, had a long hiatus then came back into the fold to be baptized. i realize now that during my hiatus, i would pray to jehovah often. now i don't pray at all. i felt closer then than i do now. i would look at a simple creek and praise jah for it's beauty. but, i don't do that anymore. i've been inactive for awhile now. although the elders don't know it by my service report. but i've attended meetings only sporadically. got called in for the big talk, soon thereafter, i realized i've been too burdened with society rules. i felt guilty for not going to the meetings like i should, i felt guilty for lying about my service report, i felt guilty that i didn't agree wholeheartedly with the org. i felt i'd betrayed god. so, i didn't pray. then i learned about the un thing and felt sort of vindicated. the blinders came off. i've been able to find out more things that prove to me that i have been trying to be loyal to the organization, not to god. (paraphrased from ray franz crisis of conscience). but where does that leave me? how do i feed my spirituality and not fall into the same trap again?....thanks for listening....sorry so long.

• nowisee
    nowisee

27 years ago i was exactly in the same place you describe. the biggest mistake is to believe that the organization is the same as God. it absolutely is not. a large part of the process is divorcing the two, and takes a real adjustment in thinking. start reading the bible without wt literature, without bias, and see where you get. pray for guidance. don't stop seeking. don't allow a misguided feeling of betraying God prevent you from knowing who God really is!

• m0nk3y
    m0nk3y