What is the JW view on the vaccine rollout?

by MebyonKernow 15 Replies latest jw friends

• MebyonKernow
    MebyonKernow

Out of morbid curiosity...

What is the Jehovah's Witnesses current view about the vaccine rollout?

Is the Watchtower Society advocating the position to take the covid vaccine? Is it a personal 'conscience' matter? How many JWs are refusing the vaccine does anyone know? Conversely, are there a lot of JWs who are taking the vaccine?

My elderly parents (both devout Witnesses) have both taken it.

Me? No bloody way. Stuff that.

Anyway, what is the current JW stance on covid vaccines, does anyone know?

Sorry I've been out of the loop now for so many years I have no knowledge about their current stance. Hell I don't even identify anymore as being an exjw it's been so many years since I left (df'ed in 1995) and all JW issues rarely if ever go through my mind anymore. It's almost like a completely foreign subject to me now. Didn't think I'd ever say that many years ago when I was at my most suicidal and doing shit loads of drugs and drinking myself into oblivion.

Does anyone want to buy a boat btw lol?

• FFGhost
    FFGhost

They have sent out letters to be read to the congregations stating that the vaccines do not contain "blood fractions", and that deciding to take or not take the vaccine is up to each JW.

That's the "official" position. Individual JWs are as loony / unloony as any other individuals - some are quite vocal about their position as anti-vaxxers, others are pro-vaccine, etc.

• Biahi
    Biahi

Shameful that they have to wait for “mother” to approve whether or not it’s okay to take the vaccine. None of their business!

• hoser
    hoser

Blood fractions? They must think the average jw doesn’t have the smarts to figure out how an mRNA vaccine is manufactured.

• road to nowhere
    road to nowhere

Hoser. You are spot on.

" It is a stark manifestation of the last days"