Facing JW-philosophy demons

by emyrose 13 Replies latest jw experiences

• emyrose
    emyrose

Hello everyone!
    I'm new to JW-boards. Although I left JW's 7yrs ago
    I am now really starting to suffer emotionally and I
    think psychologically too. I've messed up my last year in
    college and can't seem to write papers or learn anymore.
    I was doing great and even received an award for excellence in
    constitutional law. Now I can't even relate to friends or family.
    My boyfriend has urged me to get prof. help for the past year but
    I thought I could handle it myself. Ha! Not a chance. Last week I
    suffered acute anxiety attacks that had me planning a trip to the
    drug store for sleeping pills. I've never prayed as much as I did
    last week. So I now turn to you guys out there. (My current friends don't understand since none are ex-JW's) I need advice from
    people that can understand what it means to leave JW's. Just reading
    about ex-JW's has already helped me a lot. Thanks! to all who write.
    May God bless you all, Emyrose

• Prisca
    Prisca

Hi Emyrose,

Sorry to hear about the problems you are having. I'm no doctor, but I have gone through different stages of depression over the years. I am wondering if you have Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. It happens when something traumatic happens to you, but you haven't yet fully dealt with the resulting emotions/issues. I don't know your story, but we have all left the Society, and the leaving process can scar us in one way or another.

Please speak to a professional, even just your local G.P. He/she may proscribe some anti-depressants, or at least help you to discuss what is making you feel the way you do.

Please take good care of yourself. Make sure you get some rest and eat fresh foods. You are fortunate to have a caring boyfriend. He may not understand exactly what you are going thru, but it is nice to have someone's shoulder to lean upon.