Watchtower study vs. Bible study

by dreamcatcher 13 Replies latest watchtower bible

• dreamcatcher
    dreamcatcher

Very Urgent please help

I am looking for scriptures that refer to the correct way of worship (and I am sure it will not include reference to watchtower material).

I am currently studying the watchtower with some JW's in our area, but have serious reservations about their lack of communal worship that does not include complete readings from the bible. (ie. reading a chapter and then using the Watchtower to back it up instead of using the bible to backup the teachings of the Watchtower).

The watchtower is not divinely inspired so HOW ON EARTH AM I GOING TO GET ANYTHING OF VALUE OUT OF IT. The JW's simply do not want to understand that I need to feed my faith in God not feed my faith in the watchtower.

Please, any ideas on scriptures that indicate the reading of the bible during communal worship?

Cheers

• mamashel
    mamashel

Hello, and welcome. First I would like to say, trust your internal instinks that are telling you that something is not right. Dont be like some of us here that stayed involved with doubts for years and years.

One thing that i can suggest to you is to get your hands on a copy of the book Crisis of Conscience by Ray Franz. He was an elder and member of the governing body in NY, and he explains everything you need to know in this book about the false teachings of the witnessess.

There are NO scriptures in the bible that show you are to use the watchtower along with the bible for study.

Also ask them to show you from the scriptures where is says to use the wt, or anything you may question that doesnt seem right. And if they give you a scripture, share it with us, and we can show you how they try to use scripture to prove their theory, but are actually missquoting the bible.