Wolves in sheep clothing

by Israel Ricky Gonzales 19 Replies latest jw experiences

• Israel Ricky Gonzales
    Israel Ricky Gonzales

I was baptized then I was 15 years old and just entering high school. I had been a perfect JW teenager through out my high school years, although I craved to be a little bit worldly. When I graduated high school, I moved out and got a job working with my older non-JW brother. I quickly began living a double life for nearly a year. My conscience could not take it any longer and I voluntarily went to the elders to confess and get back on the narrow road that leads to everlasting life.

I truly believed that I was repentant and that ONLY unrepentant sinners were disfellowshipped. Up until then, the only person I had personally eyewitness attend their own their DFing announcement, stood up, flipped off the elder and walked out. So, it made sense that ONLY unrepentant sinners were DF'd.

Boy was I dead wrong. I laid everything on the line, totally open and honest about everything I had engaged in, even though I was shocked at some of the questions they asked. When they told me that their decision was to DF, it was like an atomic bomb went off inside my body and I literally lost feeling in my extremities. I was 19 and innocent of the DF'ing process and procedures, so I asked if I would still get my KM's. One of the elders looked at me puzzled and said, "Of course not, those are for kingdom ministers. It says OUR kingdom ministry. You are no longer a JW." I was completely devastated and utterly shocked. Unfortunately, I would get more chances to eyewitness the wolves fangs hiding beneath sheep clothing.

After a year of giving up on ever coming back, I came crawling back and was reinstated after 6 months. Had not my family been there, NO ONE would have come up to me and given me a hug or tell me congrats. My family spared me that embarrassment. Keep that thought in mind, because history repeats itself.