Not too sure about laws in your state, but here in Virginia I burned bad for not having insurance. Oh Lord, I got speeking tickets right and left and that never became an issue at any of the court appearances. How I got burned was that the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia did a random check and asked me to give proof of insurance for a six month period of time about one year prior. I couldn't and they slapped me with an SR22. The fine was $400 (maybe $500). In addition, this SR22 remained on my record for three years, which meant I had to pay a very high rate of insurance. Last month marked the three-year anniversary and I'm making my final insurance payment in September under those stiff rates. In November, when my insurance renews, I won't know how to act having a decent rate. What I do know is that my car insurance gets paid as quickly as my rent each month. You need to check the laws in your state - they may not be as stiff as Virginia, or they may not do random checks.