Any advice on DA process?

by Cicatrix 25 Replies latest jw experiences

• Cicatrix
    Cicatrix

Hello All,

I'm a newbie that's been lurking here for a couple of weeks, trying to get up the nerve to post.I've made the decision to DA myself after months of thought and research.I'm not familiar with the procedure,though.Is there anything that any of you feel is particularly important for me to know?Do I have to go before a JC to DA?If I refuse to,will they just DF me?I prefer to make it clear that I am the one who is VOLUNTARILY leaving, but having been a victim of the kangaroo court proceedings on other occasions, I just can't bring myself to put myself in the elder's "loving" hands again (a story for another day).I'm fortunate that none of my family members are baptised or even active witnesses at this point.

Any input would be much appreciated.

Cicatrix

• LuckyLucy
    LuckyLucy

You don't owe them any explanation...just go..they don't own you!!
    Very happen you have made the right choice..renews my faith in people.

• out4good3
    out4good3

Why play by their rules? Why give them the satisfaction of knowing that even during your exit that you're bound by their flawed leadership? If you've truly come to the conclusion that they're all full of it write a DA letter only if you think it will clear your conscious but if not just walk away. They'll only announce that you've DA'd yourself anyway....not the reasons why. And, based upon this months insert in the KM, if you DA'd that's the equivalent of being DF'd anyway.

• NeonMadman
    NeonMadman

Why should you disassociate yourself and give them the opportunity to enforce shunning upon you? If you've made the decision to leave, the first thing you need to understand is that you are no longer subject to their rules. Why write a letter that says, in effect, "OK, I'm leaving, so please have all my friends and family start shunning me now"?