Self-Healing, Homeopathy, Herbalist

by YoursChelbie 15 Replies latest jw friends

• YoursChelbie
    YoursChelbie

I remember while being a dub, there were many people in the KH I attended that seldom went to a traditional family doctor for common ailments. They were always praising their alternative methods of non-conventional medicine.

Even after they explained in principle how these methods work, I still had difficulty accepting them as safe alternatives. Anyone else had this experience?

• Mulan
    Mulan

My father is a retired Naturopath, so I grew up believing in alternatives. He had an enormous practice of JW's, from all over the world.

I am a self taught (seminars, classes, and tons of reading) herbalist, and totally believe in most alternative therapies.

I still believe in medical doctors too, for the most part. I rarely go to a doctor, and avoid prescriptions like a plague!! Antibiotics work really, really well on me, if I ever have to take them, because I take them so seldom.

Edited by - mulan on 6 August 2002 11:36:12

• alamb
    alamb

I have been "into" herbs for about 10 years...6 while a dub, 4 out.

I started on them while pregnant and when I was in the hospital the nurses were amazed at the births of my babies. All the nurses were writing down what I was "on". LOL

Now I try them first for ailments (and ask Mulan for advice of course) before running to the doctor. I have 4 children and we are never on anti-biotics and have been to the doctor less than 10 times in 15 years between us. Our health is so much better than our friends' and relatives. I wish I knew as much as Mulan but I'm learning.

I say they are worth a try. Doctors, chiropractors, surgeons, herbalists, etc. each have their own place and I don't discount any of them.

• larc
    larc

I too believe in natural products. Beer, cigarettes, and coffee are my favorites. I am 61, and feel terrific. Haven't had so much as a cold in several years.

• zenpunk
    zenpunk