What is a JW childhood like?

by knighthawk1981 49 Replies latest jw friends

• knighthawk1981
    knighthawk1981

Hi. I was wondering what it is like to experience childhood in the org. I am an aspiring writer ad the org has always interested me...not in the sense that I'd like to join. Please send me some replies. Thank you.

• StinkyPantz
    StinkyPantz

Sheltered.

We can only have JW friends which can at times leave a child with very few options.

We can not celebrate holidays or birthdays or thanksgiving or christmas, etc; which leaves a child feeling left out.

If we don't follow JW rules to the T we think we'll be destroyed which leaves us with constant guilt.

Being a JW child is not cool in the least.

• knighthawk1981
    knighthawk1981

thanks for the info pantz.....another thing im wondering is what it's like in school for a dub and how do he parents handl a schol situation.

• kelsey007
    kelsey007

I grew up as a JW in a small town in north Alabama. It was a very small congregation and I had no JW's my age to associate with. That combined with the fact that I only had one sibling, a sister seven years my senior, left me sonewhat a loner- isolated. School was very difficult as the other kids thought I was stuck up or felt superior to them. Little did they know that I felt very uncomfortable as an isolated person. Not engaging in sports, parties and the like. The flag salute issue drew more unwanted attention and pressure. Under these circumstances I certainly felt very different and felt that I did not fit in or belong. To say the least it was a very confusing time and my childhood was not filled with the fondest of memories. To this day I feel that my social life suffers due to my JW childhood. "Bad association spoils useful habits".

• OUTLAW
    OUTLAW

It Sucked!!!.Straight up!..LOL...OUTLAW

• Robdar
    Robdar

Hi Knighthawk1981,