does anyone else have problems dating??

by eyegirl 13 Replies latest jw friends

• eyegirl
    eyegirl

i'm fairly new to leaving the borg (about a year and a half). just wondering if anyone else has had a hard time adjusting to dating in the real world? i don't go by the whole 'we better not date unless we're ready to get married'. just haven't made the best choices in men.

• Soledad
    Soledad

Hehe I jumped into bed with the first one that came along right after I DA'd.....talk about being repressed!

• Francois
    Francois

You're not likely to make good choices in men until you've gotten some counseling. First, I think it's important to realize that your association with JWs was the moral, psychological, and intellectual equivalent of abuse. And a person does not spontaneously recover from abuse. It must be treated. I'd say that it's safe to say that you have some form of post-traumatic stress disorder, even if only a mild case. And even mild cases can cloud your judgement - for the worse.

Have you found yourself to be dating controlling men?

IMHO I think you should take a year or so off, and give yourself that time to deal with you; get you straightened out from your near-miss with a cult. Take care of you. Then the other stuff will take care of itself.

Francois

• DB
    DB

Hi eye,

My daughter is permitted by my wife and I to date, despite the fact that we are jws. She is seeing a guy in the congregation. She is not ready for marriage, nor is he.

Many, many jw youths are dating jws and non-jws behind their parents backs.

We feel that the expectation of no dating until ready for marriage is not realistic. It may be a fine ideal, but reality seems to show that jw youths are in many cases simply not going to wait that long. We'd rather have our child dating with our consent and our monitoring her activities than to be doing it behind our backs.