New Financial Arrangements

by Joe Grundy 44 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• Joe Grundy
    Joe Grundy

Dear Friends

I never was a dub. I am not a qualified lawyer or accountant. I was a commander of a police fraud squad for ten years and arrested and took to trial many qualified lawyers and accountants, which often required knowing their 'professional' stuff better than they did. Just setting the background here.

I have followed the new-light financial arrangements as disclosed here on JWN as best I can and (as a disinterested party) I have grave concerns. The 'new light' arrangements are NOT beneficient - there are substantial accounting implications and sure as eggs is eggs this has been fully thought through by WTBTS lawyers and accountants.

The vast majority of dubs won't question things, of course, because they're conditioned not to. Regulatory authorities in various countries may, I suggest, look at WTBTS as just another inconsequential wacky religious sect and thus not worthy of a closer look.

'Something is afoot' as they say. I would encourage any and all who come across financial information to continue to post it. Hopefully things may become clearer.

My personal interest is that I have met and know ex-dubs who have suffered at the hands of the organisation. It is, in my opinion, wicked.

• james_woods
    james_woods

Thank you, Joe. I seldom post here these days, but your statement is as clear as Beefeaters Gin.

And ISupport it completely.

BTW, nice to see your words again from the old days.

James

• JeffT
    JeffT

I'm an accountant. I've had major concerns about this from the get go. Unfortunately the lack of transparency in the Watchtower organization makes financial analysis impossible. Clearly this is a major money grab as both assets (the kingdom halls) and cash are now under the control of the WTBS, where they were not before. This could equal billions of dollars net gain on the Society's books.