Creationism or evolution, or do I believe in god

by moley 16 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• moley
    moley

In the past year or so I've been completely evaluating whether I believe in god. I studied marine biology at uni for the last 3 years and it completely change my view on evolution. Even when I was in I believed in evolution to a certain extent (ie the flood made no sense, the earth being 60000 odd years old etc etc) and this has made me question the existence of god. Believer, atheist, agnostic, I think I am still a believer but in A god, not the ones people are killing each other over. Why? I believe that something must have started it, as I believe (and I stress this is my own opinion) that life cannot come from lifeless matter. So yes in a sense I believe in A god but I completely reject religion.

ps I think creationists are loons

• Captain Obvious
    Captain Obvious

So what will you do once abiogenesis is proven?

• Terry
    Terry

One day I had an epiphany.

It won't change my life one tiny bit if I'm perfectly ignorant about certain things!

For example, how is the life of a Trinitarian better than a non-Trinitarian?

If I'm wrong or right about creationism or evolution--how is my life changed for better or worse?

I'm confused about certain mathematical propositions which are probably quite literally correct--but--so what?

If I can't explain the internal combustion engine in my car--what difference does it make?

We WASTE SO MUCH TIME arguing about things which impact us not at all!

Why make such a big deal out of it? Just so we can assert we are right and others or stupid?

I'm serious.

How many Jehovah's Witnesses who believe 1914 is a perfectly correct doctrine are ABLE TO EXPLAIN IT?

I'd say almost none! Yet, they are happy as a clam because they figure somebody can do it and they trust that somebody!

Here is Terry's Rule of Life #1 DON'T CHOOSE SIDES OR PICK FIGHTS unnecessarily. You might be dead wrong.