Gay for J.

by SuperBoy 31 Replies latest jw experiences

• SuperBoy
    SuperBoy

So, I eventually decided that this place wasn't the apostate hot bed I was led to believe ;-), (or maybe I am now an apostate! But I don't feel like one.).

I was brought up in "The Truth".

I loved it. I loved it. I loved the assemblies, the conventions, volunteering, the quickbuilds, the meetings, the field service, the social life.
    I stress this because even now I am not really bitter about my experiences. Life's too short. I am a bit pissed off by the whole "you don't need University" line that I was fed as I would have loved to go to Uni. But Jehovah will make sure I have 'enough'. Probably.

So, I was almost a perfect JW.
    Except I was gay. I knew from when I was very young.

Convinced this was my own doing, I prayed and prayed and prayed. I studied and studied, and watched all my friends get married and settle down.
    Because they were allowed to do that, but, according to The Watchtower, I had a 'special challenge'. But with prayer I would be able to maintain my relationship with Jehovah.

Every so often, a Watchtower article would be about homosexuality, I remember an article called 'Something worse than AIDS' and there would be comments at the meeting about the disgusting practices of homosexuals.

Except, I knew that I wasn't disgusting. I wasn't promiscuous. I was, and still am, a pretty rubbish gay. I like real ale, chips and dislike exercise.
    I wasn't one of those kind of gays. I was normal. And was learning repeatedly at the meetings that I had possibly committed the unforgivable sin, that fornicators may never truly be forgiven, oh, and that gay sex isn't the same as fornication. Perhaps.

I then started meeting blokes in public toilets. Bad, right?
    And my conscience wouldn't let me do that kind of thing. I would go to the meeting on Sunday, answer during The Watchtower and try to hook up afterwards.