JW Prayer vs. Christian Prayer

by Faithful Witness 11 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Faithful Witness
    Faithful Witness

We studied for a few years with the JW's. The public prayers were often an endurance test, while holding exhausted babies. To be honest, I have forgotten the jist of most of their prayers. I have thankfully distanced ourselves far enough from this world, to have begun recovering my thinking mind.

I know many here do not support any type of religion or belief in prayer. I'm still studying the Bible and learning about what it says about Jesus. We spend a lot of our time with Christians, and they talk a lot about prayer. They are constantly "praying for you." This is unsettling in a way, because even though I'm confident they are sincere, the "prayer request" circles sometimes seem more like gossip sessions.

When I talk to a Christian friend about something I am facing (like trouble with the brakes on our van), she says, "I will be praying for you. The Lord has a plan, and it will be worked out in His way." I'm still having trouble finding comfort in this.

Recent articles about prayer from the Watchtower are pretty disturbing, too. I guess I never realized they don't pray for people outside the walls of the WTS. This is even more strange, coming from Jehovah's chosen people.

The more I read the Bible with my eyes open, the more I realize how FAR from its teachings the JW's live their lives.

• quellycatface
    quellycatface

"I'll pray for you" sounds so bloody pompous, like you're the pope or something.practical assistance would be more appreciated and actions speak louder than words anyway.

• jgnat
    jgnat

Hubby is afraid to approach God, feeling he is not worthy.

My daughter prays over every calamity and decision.

My stepmom asks for our prayers as dad is very sick.

I offer to pray along with all three.

• punkofnice
    punkofnice

quell -

"I'll pray for you" sounds so bloody pompous