Interview with an Apostate: Rubadubdub

by rubadubdub 13 Replies latest jw experiences

• rubadubdub
    rubadubdub

Tell us a little about yourself and your family.

Married 35 years to a raised-in since five years old, now ex-JW. Husband faded five years into our marriage. Daughter (32-year-old born-in ex-JW, bi-lingual grade school teacher in Central America) respectfully declined to accept a shepherding call from the elders at age 17 and is considered DA’d by her actions. Son (28-year-old born-in ex-JW, sail rigger/shop manager in Mid-Atlantic coastal US) told the elders, “Just F***ing DF me.” They did. I walked away on July 3, 2011 after 42 years in.

Were you a born in or a convert?

I was a convert. My dad accepted a study for our family through the door-to-door ministry. I was nine years old. I studied in the Paradise Lost book. When I was ten years old, I decided I was going to be a JW. The rest of my family stopped studying by the time I was eleven years old.

Are your parents / family JWs?

None on my side of the family. My husband’s parents are 90ish uber-JWs.

How many generations have been JWs?

Three

Did you hold any position in the WTS? (MS, Elder etc...)

Full-time pioneer

Did you *really* believe in the bible, in spirits (angels, demons)?

Absolutely, yes. I was terrorized by nightmares of demons in my teen years and refused to read WT literature about demons as an adult.

Did you get baptized? When and why?

Baptized at age 16 in 1975. From the time I was ten I wanted to get baptized, my father finally thought I was old enough when I turned 16 years old. I believed it was the right thing to do.

What was the initial trigger that made you start questioning things?