A very nice JW tried to give me a pamphlet today at my door

by Faithful Witness 16 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Faithful Witness
    Faithful Witness

I'm so happy that they came while I was home, and I was prepared for the knock on my door.

I greeted a very nice JW lady on my doorstep. She wanted to give me a pamphlet about whether the dead will live again. As soon as she pulled it out of her folder, I clasped my hands behind my back and smiled politely.

She opened the pamphlet and pointed to one of the verses that was quoted about being resurrected on earth. I nodded and listened to her for a minute or two. She didn't seem to be in a big hurry, so I let her use up some time on me.

We hopped to a couple of different topics. I'm still not good at keeping myself focused, let alone trying to stay on a single topic with a JW. I told her I am a bible student myself, and gave her a quick overview of my history with the JW's. (studied for long time, but didn't join. My parents did, and now our family is divided).

She insisted on the belief that Jehovah needs an organization on earth. I asked her where that was in the Bible. She showed me some verses about gathering together. I didn't push that issue, because I had something more pertinent to what she was doing today. She was out on her campaign, trying to get these pamphlets dropped at every house, and keeping track of each one placed. I asked her to look something up in the bible for me at Matthew 6:1-4. Do not practice your righteousness in front of men to be recognized by them.