How did Rutherford come to Power?

by Daniel1555 6 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Daniel1555
    Daniel1555

In the last WT Article it was said that 4 of the 7 directors rebelled against the decision to install Rutherford as president in 1916. Then it is said that they left in 1917; a cleansing happened indeed.

Does anyone of you know the details how Rutherford came to power?

If 4 out of 7 are against it, that doesn't seem to me allright. One sister said in her comment at the meeting, it wasn't obviously democratic but it was "theocratic".

I wondered if she thought Jesus himself came down to the US to have Rutherford appointed.

• zeb
    zeb

not unless he was an alcoholic

• breakfast of champions
  • Band on the Run
    Band on the Run

Several threads here discussed this in detail. I read the wikipedia article. As a former corporate lawyer, I don't believe the complete story is available. Corporate law may have been different in NY and PA in those days. Something is just not right with the accounts. Rutherford basically wrested control. Russell left a last will and testament designating directors. I don't see how that would be valid. The corporate by laws would govern selection of directors. Each side hired corporate lawyers to give opinion letters as to the validity of the director appointments. No side ever sought a judicial determination.

Hire a lawyer and enough qualifiations will be found to justify what you want to do.

Some member posted in response to my questions that the Bible Students were small in number. It was not the WT we know. Bible Students were not centrally controlled. The antiRutherford faction may have decided not to waste resources going to court. Letting Rutherford leave and maintaining Russell era principles in their congregations may have been more prudent.

There are Bible Student groups to this day.