Tech 49: My Tripping Point, part 1

by Tech49 6 Replies latest jw experiences

• Tech49
    Tech49

I have previously told a little about myself, and thought I would share a bit more. My tripping point. The point when you awaken from a dream. Remember the movie "Inception" ? The tripping point that awoke a dreamer was falling, an abrupt startle, something that just goes "POP" !

I was startled 'slightly' some 25 + years ago or so, as a senior in high school. You will note I said 'slightly'...... i fell back asleep, to truly be awoken completely only recently ( more on that later), but did not forget that very moment:

Here we were as Seniors, soon to graduate High School, looking forward to an unknown and exciting future. I was an honor student, my guidance counselor was constantly reminding me of the need to apply for scholarships, as they were readily available. I was VERY into architectual design, in an age when computers were just coming onto the scene. Exciting, fascinating times! I had an application in my hand for ITT Tech.

Then, one day, the local newspaper guy interviewed me, on the balcony deck of the office building. He took my picture, put it in the paper that week, with a brief story about an aspiring Senior. I remember his question clearly, I remember my answer, clearly. He even quoted my directly.

Reporter: "Tech49, where are you planning on going to college?"

Tech49: "oh, I won't be attending college."

Reporter: "Really, I am surprised. Why not? "

Tech49: "Well, I can't really afford it." ( lie, I knew I could get scholarships, probably a full ride if I wanted). ".... and besides, I can do much better on my own, I plan to start my own business..."