Summary of WT Appeal Brief in Conti Case

by Chaserious 79 Replies latest watchtower child-abuse

• Chaserious
    Chaserious

After having the opportunity on a long train ride today to read the entire Watchtower appeal brief from the Conti case, I decided to put up a summary for those who are interested. My apologies for the length, but the brief is 77 pages! Many thanks to everyone at the newly announced AAWA for making this available!

As a matter of background, I’m a law student from the U.S. who will be sitting for the bar this summer. I spent a few months working for an appeals court judge (not in California), which sometimes involved reading briefs like this one, or portions of a brief, and writing a summary memo for the judge about the key issues and a recommendation on how the case should turn out. Even though I didn't know any of the judges and clerks to read the briefs until the briefing was complete, as a spectator in this case, I was too curious to wait.

There are essentially six grounds on which the WT is appealing the trial court’s decision. They are technically appealing only what the judge did, not the jury. Although parts of the appeal may seem like an appeal of what the jury did, in reality it is an appeal of the judge letting such decision be placed in the jury's hands, or the judge's instructions to the jury, or the judge not modifying portions of the jury's verdict the way they would have liked. I have included a summary of each of the points below.

A) The Duty Applied to the Watchtower - The WT is appealing the finding by the trial judge that the WT had a duty to protect Candace or to warn her parents. “Duty” is an element of every tort case, and if one doesn’t exist there can be no recovery to the plaintiff. Whether a duty exists is decided by the trial judge, and not the jury. The judge told the jury what legal duties apply when he gave jury instructions, which the WT objected to at the time.