Should people be able to live on the dole ?

by fulltimestudent 24 Replies latest social current

• fulltimestudent
    fulltimestudent

A petite row is brewing in the Australian teacup. Jenny Macklin, a rather grandiosely titled, Minister for Families, asked by a journalist, whether she could live on the $35 dollars-a-day social services payment for job-seekers, replied that she could! But her staff cut that comment out of the official transcript.

The row is a bit more complicated than that- but that's the gist.

The full story is at: http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/political-news/minister-riles-welfare-groups-20130101-2c4ct.html

I've got no idea what special pioneers get in Aust. these days*, but it is likely less than that.

So is anyone here living on A$35/day or its equivalent?

* In truth, I must admit that one benefit of all the wasted years serving Yahweh and Jesus, was that I learned to live cheap. So as a poverty stricken student I get along quite well, excepting my list of books I want to buy, grows longer and longer, and the Aussie bookshops charge about double the international price.

• finally awake
    finally awake

I think the basic issue is whether or not the dole should provide more than just enough to survive on. IMO, welfare is a safety net to keep people from starvation. I don't see any reason for basic welfare benefits to provide more than subsistence level benefits. I don't know what the exchage rate is, or the relative costs of living, but $12,000 where I live (small town US Midwest) is enought to squeak by on, as long as you don't have medical issues.

• jgnat
    jgnat