Minumim wage may go to $10 per hour...

by darthfader 16 Replies latest social current

• darthfader
    darthfader

I understand the reasons for the desire to raise the minimum wage, but as a small business owner, I'll have to raise prices to keep my margins profitable. A 30% hit is pretty substantial.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/06/07/business/bill-pushes-for-increase-in-wages.html

• milola
    milola

On the same token it should allow more people to afford more products from your business, hopefully.

• AnneB
    AnneB

I can't stand news stories that have "may" in them. Why get into a tizzy over something that "may" or "may not" happen? Seems like a waste of time and energy to me.

People who believe that their efforts influence/impede the political process may disagree. That's not the sort of thing I'm talking about. I mean stories like:

'The sky *may* be falling'

'Earth *may* be hit by a meteor'

'California *may* fall into the sea'.

Worse are the ones with titles like:

'The President *may* do this or that'

'There *may not* be enough of some vital supply to go around'.

My gut reaction is generally "Give it a rest! Come back only if you have something definitive to say!" While newswriters are collecting a paycheck for turned out such drivel, I'm not improving my circumstances in any way by taking the time to read it.

To the persons responsible for the fearmongering: Jeez, get a grip!!!

• cantleave
    cantleave

As a business owner why shouldn't your employees be entitled to decent standard of living? If you can run your business without them, don't employ them. If you can only afford to employ on less than minimum wage, re-evaluate your business model.

I believe small business are the key to economic growth, but we want business to be creating decent jobs and real opportunities, not one step up from slave labour.

• darthfader
    darthfader