Higher Education ... Thoughts, Tips, Money-saving Ideas

by RubaDub 19 Replies latest jw friends

• RubaDub
    RubaDub

While I have a Bachelors and Advanced Degree from a very well-respected university, it makes me cringe when I see what people spend (or think they need to spend) to get a college degree. Having taken a few non-traditional steps to get my education, here's a few thoughts and ideas to think about if your kids are getting to be college age or if you (like many JW's) are thinking about going to college later in life:

1. Community Colleges are a Bargain!

Go to a large university, and in all likelihood in your first year or so, you are in huge classrooms/lecture halls with hundreds of students. You may have very little contact with your Professors the entire semester. The basic, core courses taught at most colleges are very similar. For example, English I and English II at your local community college will be very similar to English I and English II at your State University, etc. The main difference will be the Community College will be about 60-80% less than the cost of the State University.

2. Choose your courses carefully at a Community College