Greetings everyone

by MoneurMallard 19 Replies latest jw friends

• MoneurMallard
    MoneurMallard

Hello everybody, I studied with the Jehovah's about 10 years ago, was never baptized, never a publisher, never really did anything, went to a few of the Watchtime meetings. My purpose at the time was a study on comparative religion, which I eventually became a student of in full practice. Of all the organizations I met with, the Witnesses were the most friendly at first, welcoming me to ask many questions about the bible. I did, although my questions slowly became met more and more with malice as to why I couldn't accept the organization's stand on specific topics.

Many of the "brothers" I studied with at my home became very nervous with many of my questions. On one occasion I asked for contemporary historical evidence for the existence of a man named Jesus from a town called Nazareth. The gospel accounts which are available today can only be dated as far back as the third or fourth copy, some 150-170 years after the fact. There were some 20+ contemporary historians living in or around the Mediterranean in the first century AD that should have at the very least, mentioned a "Jesus" from "Nazareth".

My view on the New Testament canon is that it is mainly a conglomeration of numerous religious concepts depending on which various text you're reading. I have no problem with the idea or concept of a Jesus, but to say that he is a historical person that actually lived is not something that can be proven.

Anyway, I tend to ramble in forum atmospheres, I look forward to dialog with many of you.

Andrew

• White Dove
    White Dove

Welcome to the forum!

I agree with you.

That was one of the questions I had after I left.

The "proof for Jesus" didn't add up.

• ambersun
    ambersun

Hello and a big welcome to you MoneuMallard

What an interesting first post!! I am really looking forward to reading more comments from you and hope you will be very happy here