2 Food questions,,, one for chefs, one for southern cooks

by talesin 13 Replies latest jw friends

• talesin
    talesin

1. Can I make a roue using half-and-half butter w/ olive oil? I know they have similar properties.

2. I love my swiss chard and beet greens. But I hear collard greens are much more nutritious. I tried to cook them once, and they were too bitter for my liking. I know I'm not cooking them right .... any suggestions?

Thanks!

I'm off to bed now.

tal

• Hortensia
    Hortensia

yes you can make roux with butter and oil, or oil alone

buy fresh tender young collards, or braise the collards a long time until they are very tender and the flavor has mellowed.

• mrsjones5
    mrsjones5

I like to slow cook my greens in a crockpot. The taste of collards and mustard green kinda mellow out.

• dm6
    dm6

I am a chef :)

9 years behind the apron and proud of it :)

Yes, you can make a roux with olive oil half and half with butter, but i highly reccommend turning your butter into clarified butter, or what the indians would call Ghee.

Simmer a block of butter in a pan and let it simmer for several minutes. Turn the heat off and leave for a few mins. Then with a ladel, take out the clear gold ghee and discard the fat and salt that seperates.

Now that you have clarified butter, you can put this on the heat in a pan to ridiculous temperatures, and the butter will not burn, nor will it boil.

put half in a pan with half olive oil, leave to heat up to a high temperature. Then add your flour and use a maurice (spatchelor) and mix constantly cooking throughout. You will know when it is ready to add the hot milk (in a seperate pan) because the roux you have made will keep cooking to the point that it leaves the sides of the pan and no longer sticks. It will look like a lump of dough in the pan that you can move around almost like a lumpy ball.