Why I no longer believe the Bible is "God's Word" and I no longer believe in "God"

by lifeisgood 79 Replies latest jw friends

• lifeisgood
    lifeisgood

I became a Christain at the age of 9. Not by going to a church or asking a preacher to baptize me, or anything like that. I just did it on my own. I started reading my mother's King James Bible cover to cover at the age of 8. My father was very abusive and when he was abusing me, I would close my eyes and pray. I never hated my father, which is one good thing I got out of prayer.

When I turned 13 I became a lay preacher and traveled, on my own, preaching in any church that would let me.

When I was 15 I studied with the JWs and was baptized after four months of study.

I was a zealous Christain but not a zealous JW, according to them. I never "reached out" to become a ministerial servant or elder. I pioneered a few times, but nothing special. I NEVER asked for money in the field service. Usually I just handed out Bibles. I was constantly "admonished" about this and I would always say "So, you are telling me that I cannot talk to people about God and the Bible?".