Jehovah's Witnesses and their hypocritical entertainment choices.

by Scooby-Doo 17 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Scooby-Doo
    Scooby-Doo

The couple that i studied with were major hypocrites when it came to their entertainment choices. I remember the first time i was invited to their house for dinner, this was the first time that we just hung out socially, and they were playing music. A song came on sung by a girl group that liked to pretend they were bisexuals (or lesbians, whatever) and i thought 'hey, maybe these witnesses are pretty relaxed and cool after all'.

Boy was i wrong. They would always bitch about the stuff that i watched/read/listened to etc. It seemed like every other week I'd get a lecture about how whenever i watched a TV show with supernatural elements, i would be inviting demons into my home. 'You know that you're involved in the occult, we don't need to tell you that.' they would say. Seriously, like watching a show about sexy butt-kicking witches is going to lead me into a life of sacrificing goats in the name of the prince of darkness. Give me a break.

Or they would bitch about how they would never watch what i do because they don't agree with what the characters are and what they do. They basically condemned me for watching a show that had a gay (or bisexual, whatever) guy as the main character. Now i wouldn't have a problem with that, that is... if they applied that logic to their own entertainment choices.

They would watch a TV show about a lovable murderer. I mean really, I'm making bad choices for watching a gay guy but you're just fine watching a killer who is presented as the good guy? I remember how they would watch it but they wouldn't buy it on DVD because she wouldn't be OK with it in her house.