How long did it take until you had that 'light bulb' moment?

by Crash Override 14 Replies latest jw experiences

• Crash Override
    Crash Override

How long did it take for you to realize that something was very wrong with the 'truth'?

For me, it was about 2 1/2 years into studying. I was around 15/16.

I'm a guy and I'm attracted to both guys and girls. I never had a problem with that until i started studying. I started having these guilty feelings, like i was constantly sinning and couldn't help it. I somehow came to the crazy conclusion that demons had made me bisexual and that i had invited them into my life through the occult.

So i got rid of my ghost and vampire books. Time went by and i was still bisexual, even though i studied extra hard and tried my best not to sin. I couldn't understand it, i was doing everything right. I was even considering leaving school and devoting my entire life to preaching for Jehovah, just to atone for my evil thoughts. By this time my fear of demons was out of control. Because of it i had trouble sleeping most nights.

It was at this point i took a step back and realized, holy crap! i think that I'm an evil person and i live in fear of invisible demons. They were completely messing me up and in turning into a nut job. This was, as i like to put it, my light bulb moment.

From then on i started researching into the history behind the organization. I came across pictures and info of Charles Taze Russel's burial site. I showed this to the couple i study with. They told me straight away that it's all probably false and that i can't trust these 'apostate sites'. I pleaded with them to check it out anyway to see if it's true. So they came back next week for study, told me that it was all true. Yes they used pyramids in their worship and yep, that big ass pyramid burial monument was built by early JWs. Oh, but they learned from their mistakes.