"I can't use my kitchen at all," she said
I did not understand this aspect either - apparantly the kitchen itself can be "unclean" according to orthodox view - not just the food.
OK, so did my original list (from the other website) have it wrong on gelatin? That guy thought it was OK for jews even from non-Kosher animals -
BTW - somebody else on P&R on Ferrari posted that not all wines are Kosher; Kosher ones are marked as such. He intimated but did not directly say that non-wine alcoholic drinks were not Kosher.
It made me wonder if some of this kind of nonsense was going on back in Jesus day - (pharisiacal law-makers)...
Of course, I should say that I have never seen the orthodox Jews try to force this stuff on non-Jews. No comment on the Halal Muslims in that regard.