need help re 607 date

by hosebracket 25 Replies latest jw friends

• hosebracket
    hosebracket

Hi all

I am new to this.

I have a problem. Someone on my ministry asked me about the date that we hold so dear....607 BCE and asked me to prove it to them. This would not be a problem I thought as the F&DS would have solid basis for using such a date. Welll I looked at the encyclopedias at the back of the hall and every single one said that the first fall of Jerusalem was in 587 BCE. I then got in touch with the British Museum and they said the same thing. I even asked them if this date could be wrong and they replied "no" as the evidence is overwhelming. I have to return to this person to answer the question. To be hnest I dont think that I have a case.

Hose bracket

• RedhorseWoman
    RedhorseWoman

Hosebracket, I don't think you have a case, either. There was a very detailed post concerning research done on this date over on Witnet some months ago. All of the research indicated that 607 B.C.E. was a bogus date with almost no support from ANY Bible scholars or historians.

I'm sure that others here can give you the specific references that were used to negate the use of this date.

• trevor
    trevor

There is no support for this date whatsoever. Any encyclopaedia can be checked to verify the true date as 586 BCE.Read Raymond Franz' book 'Crisis of Conscience' available through Amazon web site. R.Franz was responsible for researching this topic for the 'Aid' book.

As the WT has built it's house of card based on this date and counted forward 2,520 years to 1914 then distorted Biblical text to count 3 & 1/2 years to 1919 they cannot now admit their mistake.What would become of their many applications of prophecy regarding the witnesses lain dead on the Broadway, or the resurection to heaven in 1919 of their chosen members in place of the faithfull men of old .Their house of cards would collapse if this error became common knowledge amoung their members.