The power and assertive years ( approx. 30 to 45 )

by caliber 11 Replies latest jw friends

• caliber
    caliber

My personal observation is that these (30-45) years are the coming together of physical, emotional and mental power, a time when

most reach the desire , confidence and need to speak out to speak out about all injustice they see around them.

My personal opinion is that after reaching this stage in life you mellow out in your 50's . I make this claim by personal life experience

and observation of people even on this board . I feel a person becomes more accepting and less assertive after this age group

Please I wish to hear your thoughts !

• jgnat
    jgnat

I don't FEEL like I'm past my prime, LOL! I'm just getting started. How about a mellow activist? I figure if I'm not ticking people off all the time, I get more out of them.

• caliber
    caliber

jgnat.... he he he .... there you go .. "A mellow activist " there is more measured caution and thought as to outcome

and gentle persuasion involved right ?

• jgnat
    jgnat

You got it, buddy. It can be sly persuasion; not always gentle. A shove in the right direction before they know they are off balance.

• jgnat
    jgnat

I caught the tail end of the movie, Gandhi, where a simple salt demonstration forced Britain's hand. They were forced to grant independence. A seemingly small gesture with great significance. It had to be a mature genius to come up with such a plan.

• doofdaddy
    doofdaddy

On somes points I agree but I have found my voice in later life(I am nearly 55). I battle to keep my mouth shut at meetings etc, as my bulls+++t detecter has become sharper in my fifties. Physically, I am just as active as ever. Must have good genes.

• Band on the Run
    Band on the Run

So many of the Founding Fathers played key roles in defining the Constitution and Revolutionary Generation in their older years. Gandhi was no spring chicken - maybe in So. Africa but not in India.