Did Paul write Luke?

by iamwhoiam 52 Replies latest watchtower bible

• iamwhoiam
    iamwhoiam

Luke 1:1-4 (NWT)

1 Whereas many have undertaken to compile a statement of the facts that are given full credence among us, 2 just as those who from [the] beginning became eyewitnesses and attendants of the message delivered these to us, 3 I resolved also, because I have traced all things from the start with accuracy, to write them in logical order to you, most excellent The·oph´i·lus, 4 that you may know fully the certainty of the things that you have been taught orally.

Act 1:1,2 (NWT)

1 The first account, O The·oph´i·lus, I composed about all the things Jesus started both to do and to teach, 2 until the day that he was taken up, after he had given commandment through holy spirit to the apostles whom he chose.

Just curious. I'm a newbie to the forum btw.

iawia

• leavingwt
    leavingwt

Most modern critical scholarship concludes that Luke used the Gospel of Mark for his chronology and a hypothetical sayings source Q document [9] Traditional Christian scholarship has dated the composition of the gospel to the early 60s, [10] [11] while higher criticism dates it to the later decades of the 1st century. [12] [13] While the traditional view that Paul's companion Luke authored the gospel is still often put forward, a number of possible contradictions between Acts and Paul's letter lead some scholars to dispute this account. [14] [15] According to Raymond E. Brown, it is not impossible that Luke was the author. [16] [6] for many of Jesus' teachings. Luke may also have drawn from independent written records. According to the majority view, the author is unknown.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gospel_of_Luke

• moshe
    moshe
    According to the majority view, the author is unknown.