InternetBumperStickers.com

by SYN 17 Replies latest jw friends

• SYN
    SYN

Hi all, just thought I'd mention something that's been bugging me a bit, I've noticed that a few ppl on this board are using GIFs from InternetBumperStickers.com.

I myself have gotten some amazing little GIFs from that site, they seriously kick the llama's ass!

There is only one thing: those nice guys at InternetBumperStickers pay real money for the bandwidth they use, and when you guys link to their images in your sigs, that means that every unique IP that views this page (provided they are using an image-enabled browser) is going to download that image from their servers. You might think that these tiny 2K GIFs are nothing, but believe me, I was an administrator for a couple of websites, and the bandwidth adds up, and pretty soon you're paying through your nose for other people free loading.

The solution is a simple one: merely copy the files to your computer, find a server where you can stick them that allows public HTTP access to files you can upload to it, FTP them onto the server, and then update your sigs to point to the new image location. This way you can help keep InternetBumperStickers up for longer (as they are apparently rapidly running out of money ), and you can still keep your sigs.

OK, maybe I should stop talking now, hehe!

Take care,
    Derek

"I see no good reasons why the views given in this volume should shock the religious sensibilities of anyone." -- Charles Darwin, The Origin Of Species, 1869.

• peaceloveharmony
    peaceloveharmony

syn,

oh now i feel real bad.....

is it okay if i just steal the saying like this?
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    v

not a RULES girls

• peaceloveharmony
    peaceloveharmony

okay yellow doesn't work so well...let's see....

not a RULES girl

• terafera
    terafera

okay sounds great but...

can anyone tell me of a site that will allow you to store your links on? I havent been able to find one..

• ladonna