Hello To All

by DakotaRed 18 Replies latest jw friends

• DakotaRed
    DakotaRed

Hi all;

As you can tell, I am another newbie, so I thought I would introduce myself. I have been quietly reading the posts for some time now and thought it time to join in.

I am a 53 year old grandpa (neither daughter or their husbands are JW) married to JW woman with three kids, ages 15, 16, 17. Therein lies the source of my discourgement and subsequent disassociation from the JWs. I outlined my involvement with the JWs in my profile, if any are interested. I am a conservative free thinker, not bound to any mindset and research matters on my own. I do not have a problem with what the Watchtower teaches, in general, but came to realize that what they teach is not necessarily what they follow, especially down at the Kingdom Halls locally. To me, that is hypocrisy.

Maybe I should have seen it when I was studying. The Brother I studied with, along with his wife, let me know up front that I was really stupid for serving in the US Army and doing two tours in Vietnam. But, I let that comment slide. You see, the JWs are close to what I actually believe, but not completely. I don't think anyone actually is.

After my trouble started within the congregation, an elder iinformed me to hang tough, that I was just going through a "test of faith." This is the same elder that chewed me out privately for 50 minutes outside the Kingdom Hall over some manipulative ;ies my then 8 year old step-son told him about me. This is briefly addressed in my profile. He also told me that satan attacks us where we least expect it, including using those in the Kingdom Halls, which led to the question I ask in my signature, how can satan and God's spirit both work inside the Kingdom Hall? I thought the KHs were a place of peace and comfort and a way to avoid satans influence. Of course, no answer, just told it was a "test of faith."