One more disability - but solutions are great

by Lady Lee 19 Replies latest jw friends

• Lady Lee
    Lady Lee

OK so I have been almost blind in one eye since I was a kid. I have been using a wheelchair for 7 years now.

And last winter I discovered I am going deaf - there goes my career as a sign langiuage interpreter for the Witnesses. lol

So 2 weeks ago I got my hearing aids. What the h*ll was I waiting for?

These things are fabulous. I don't have to have my TV blaring so I can hear what people say. I don't have to ask people to keep repeating themselves.

I just grab my nifty remote control and jack up the volume.

These babies are awesome. I can connect them to my MP3 player and even my old Walkman. I can connect to any device with an audio jack into a receiver hanging around my neck and it feeds the sound wirelessly into the hearing aids. I don't even have to have stupid wires coming out of my hears anymore with ear plugs that make my ears hurt.

If I can find a Jabra hub (which are supposedly discontinued) I can even connect my land phone to the receiver.

It will also accept any Bluetooth enabled device through the receiver and directly into the hearing aids.

----

Hearing aids ain't what they used to be. If you have a hearing problem or think you do, get your hearing checked. You will be surprised at how much you are missing.

• Aussie Oz
    Aussie Oz

wow lady, i didn't know anything about you!

so glad you have these fantiastic new toys!

no, fantastic new life changing devices!

oz

• Lady Lee
    Lady Lee

yea I'm falling apart. What can I say? Old age or something like that

• Hadit
    Hadit
    And last winter I discovered I am going deaf - there goes my career as a sign langiuage interpreter for the Witnesses. lol

I'm sorry about your hearing on top of everything else! LOL though - your sense of humour is intact! That's a good thing it keeps us going through the trials.

Glad you found a great technological solution! Wishing you all the best