Questions for HomeSchoolers

by RubaDub 12 Replies latest jw friends

• RubaDub
    RubaDub

I know very little about homeschooling (as will likely be evident by my comments) but it has always fascinated me.

We have one daughter. I could see home schooling in the early years, but after grades 5 or 6, wow ... that would be a challenge. And I have a college degree.

My general comment/question is ... is if someone is that knowledgeable about so many different disciplines (math, science, literature, social studies, history, art, music, etc) why isn't he or she a professional teacher? If someone was really great at fixing my car, why wouldn't that person want to be a mechanic?

In my case, I guess I have learned how much I don't know instead of what I do know. The more you study, the more you learn how much you don't know.

It just would blow my mind to have to sit and read through and "teach" literature ... reading and interpreting Milton's Paradise Lost, Catcher in the Rye, a Tale of Two Cities or some other of those "must-reads" in high school. And then, switch to Algebra, Trigonometry or Calculus ... and then switch to Microbiology, Chemistry or Physics ... throw in French or Protuguese ... maybe a C++ programming class ..........and then ......................

I mean, how much time do you take preparing for all of these subjects ??? It blows my mind thinking about preparing for so much.

And again, if someone is so skilled and knowledgeable in these areas, why not teach as a profession ???

Your comments are welcomed.

Rub a Dub

• garyneal
    garyneal

If I am not mistaken, I think a lot of homeschooler teach from materials that they get from some organization. Now I am showing my ignorance but I can bet homeschoolers are not that versed in all those studies.

And again, if someone is so skilled and knowledgeable in these areas, why not teach as a profession ???