Loneliness and the day I graduated from High School

by laverite 20 Replies latest jw friends

• laverite
    laverite

Many of us have suffered in so many ways as a result of the WTBTS. I know intense pain, fear and loneliness as a direct result of the WTBTS. I have overcome most of it in life and am happy now. But I do get flashbacks. Recently, because of the graduation season, I have been thinking back on my own high school graduation.

When I graduated from high school (22 years ago), at the age of 18, I walked to my graduation ceremony alone. Keep in mind that I was not DFd or DAd at that time (I've since DAd myself on my own terms to live my life free). But no one went to my high school graduation. Not one family member. No parents. No grandparents. No friends. I was literally all alone. I walked a couple of miles to the graduation, and walked home alone. Because I had turned 18 and was kicked out of the house during my senior year (for being accepted into and planning to attend university), home wasn't even home. Talk about feeling totally alone in the world.

This experience was a real turning point, and, thankfully, within three months I was far away at a university (which I had to do all alone as well). Thank goodness for that escape.

Being a parent now for the past few years, it's brought a lot of stuff from my upbringing back. That's why I think I've started posting and visiting on this site.