A Picture Worth 10,000 Words

by snowbird 17 Replies latest social current

• snowbird
  • White Dove
    White Dove

Fascinating and horrid. As a white chick in a traditionally Black college from 2004-2008, I studied Af/Am literature, history, and sociology as part of my core classes for the sociology major. What an eye opener! Most of the reading I had to do was quite interesting, but it also devastated me over and over, again. It ripped my heart out. The older Black people said time and again that the younger generations don't appreciate what prejudice REALLY means. They simply don't understand as does the generation that actually lived through the Civil Rights Movement. Prejudice nowadays is very small potatoes compared to what it used to be. Still, there is a ways to go, but there is absolutely no comparison to the way it was.

• snowbird
    snowbird
    White chick.

LOL.

Thanks for those observations, WD.

There's something about that photo that clutches at the heart.

Syl

• not a captive
    not a captive

Syl,

Far more tragic than the rags on their bodies is the deep anxiety on these little boys' faces.

I am always filled with disgust when I hear slavery dismissed with this: Well, but they were fed, clothed and sheltered--who did that for the poor whites?

For years I wondered what the clergy thought of this situation--what did they say to their church people?

It lead me to years of research and the reading of the slave narratives and interviews that are available. The WPA Ex-slave interviews you have to read between the lines sometimes--the old people in those days, the 1930's--had no reason to trust a white person with a pad and paper to do them any good. So the talk was scant but often very telling anyway.