Newbie Here

by bluegirl78 14 Replies latest jw friends

• bluegirl78
    bluegirl78

Hi everyone, another newbie here. I've been lurking on this site for over 2 weeks now - love it! The more I read the more ignorant I feel, but I'm learning... I've posted a few responses to others, and would like to say a big thank you to those who have already welcomed me. I've been trying really hard to get an intro. put together, but with a 7-month-old at home it's hard to write two coherent sentences, let alone anything more complicated! Anyway, I was raised as a JW mostly by my mom, as my dad has only really been involved again in the last few years. I guess my doubts about the religion must have gotten started at a pretty young age, since I can remember wondering why my grandparents (who were kind, decent people) would be destroyed in Armageddon simply because they made the mistake of choosing the "wrong" religion. My dad was probably what you'd call a fader (he had been baptized, but never regularly attended meetings), so my family was definitely not as strict as the average JW family. For example, my dad strongly encouraged my sister and I to do well in school so that we could eventually go on to college, and we were allowed to have "worldly" friends over occasionally. In high school I went through a period where I was a firm believer that this religion was the "truth", that armageddon really was just around the corner, and so I was duly baptized at the age of fifteen.