WT Articles on the "sacred secret", please

by sd-7 17 Replies latest watchtower bible

• sd-7
    sd-7

Can someone please post an article or three about "the sacred secret"? I'm studying this topic with my wife for Family Worship and I need to refresh my memory on WT doctrine in this regard.

(I know it's basically like this: "seed" foretold at Gen. 3:15-->Abraham-->Isaac-->Jacob-->David-->Christ-->144,000-->"things on the earth" or "other sheep". That's the "administration" according to Ephesians chapter 1. But obviously I can't just say that or wifey will get mad and think I didn't prepare and continue to doubt my capacity for headship and all that.)

Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

SD-7

• cameo-d
    cameo-d

First, you should really understand what the word "sacred" means.

This goes back to the Talmudic vow formula. A formula is a stylized ritual.

The term 'gonam' at the beginning of the vow referred to a sacred object on which the vow was taken. Usually there followed a curse which the person making the vow imposed on himself. In other words, he made a pledge on a sacred object that if he broke his vow he was in agreement with being cursed. (1)

Sacred means bound by curse or oath and it is established by the oath.

"It was by an oath that the vassal expressed his incorporation within the sphere of the lord's jurisdiction. This oath invoked the covenant (contract) sanctions, more precisely, the curse, so that the curse became a synonym for an oath. This oath-curse was customarily dramatized in symbolic rites and the ritual actions portraying the doom that was verbally specified in the self-maledictory oath." www. apuritansmind.com/Baptism/KlineMeredithOathOrdealPart1.htm