Questions From Readers - April 15, 2015 Watchtower

by sd-7 23 Replies latest jw friends

• sd-7
    sd-7

Now, I'm not a prophet, but I would consider this article to be a uh, spirit-directed excerpt from what could happen--but we are not saying. It could. But we are not saying:

Questions From Readers

Is it necessary to offer thanks in prayer before eating snacks?

In the time of Moses and the Israelites, snacks generally did not exist. Food could not be stored as it is today due to modern technology. For example, the Passover lamb could only be eaten on the night it was slaughtered. None of it was to remain until the morning. (Ex. 12:10) Similarly, the manna that the Israelites received in the wilderness sustained them only for one day. They were not permitted to take up more than one day’s supply of food (with the exception of Sunday’s food being provided on Saturday, when a double portion of manna was sent from heaven), evidently meaning Jehovah provided only enough for three square meals--not for satanic fourthmeals like those engaged in by the surrounding pagan nations. (Ex. 16:15-19) Thus, the matter of offering thanks to Jehovah over a snack never became an issue.

However, in recent times, it has become possible to preserve more food than is required for three square meals. Also, snack foods—various forms of chocolate, candy, pastries and the like—have become more and more readily available. Do these items, being food, come from Jehovah as well? Apparently so, as Jehovah is “the giver of every good gift and perfect present” and thus provided man with the means of creating snack foods.