The coming Death of Simon's Board?

by Mindchild 48 Replies latest jw friends

• Mindchild
    Mindchild

Is there a cure for the CANCER that is growing on this board? I discuss this below and think there is and maybe you will like it.

If you didn’t know it already, I’m a veteran of Web-based communities and I can trace my virtual roots to living in the first generation of online hangouts (which were direct dialup electronic bulletin boards before the Web was around) like the Well and ECHO. In their heyday, these old services had maybe five thousand people or so who were regular participants and out of this population there were some really cool community leaders and other well known posters who naturally emerged and then came the birth of a few clowns, jokers and the mix ended up pretty interesting and made it a great place to hang out..

I think there was more of a homeostatic balance in those days that made the community more self regulating than you will find in these times but to be sure there were moderators for different discussion areas that more or less made people play nice and if you were a productive member of those online societies, you got rewarded with having a discussion area of your own that branched out of a discussion group you frequented, and so forth. Kind of like a tree branch, branching out in different directions. The community was small enough to be managed effectively by the moderators in the groups and if you got a real asshole in your group you could always appeal to the other moderators in help with dealing with this individual and just ban them from coming to the Well or punish them in some way to stop their disruptive behavior.