How stupid do I think I am?

by AK - Jeff 27 Replies latest jw experiences

• AK - Jeff
    AK - Jeff

Today, as I wait for the grout on the kitchen floor to dry, I began to ponder.....

I wonder looking back just how insensitive to reality I could have been to have spent the vastness of my youth and midlife believing the obvious lies of Jehovah's Witnesses. Though I enjoy my freedom, I have no foundational background upon which to prop it. Though having a sense of being reborn, that rebirth has taken place late in life, and has left me feeling somewhat empty. Like a man who just emerged from amnesia and has no past from which to draw his moral/ethical/philosophical/spiritual value system, I sometimes wonder who I am, where I have been, and mostly where I am going.

Retrospectively, I seem to be drawing all my perspective from a clouded past. I was drawing no conclusions based on the facts of my experiences - until I left. I feel like a man of 53 making his early forays into the life of an 18 year old. My mind had been pickled in subversive propaganda for most of my life. Though I no longer look for a guide to tell me what I believe and how I should react in this life, I sense that the marathon started and was nearly finished before I began the race. Now the sun sets on the course, and I run it alone.

Anyway - the random thoughts of a random man in this random world.

Jeff

• crazycate
    crazycate

Not stupid at all. Perhaps disoriented. Having left the way of life I lived for my entire life, I find myself feeling that way--disoriented, I mean. Everything had been planned out--no surprises. Now, while having the freedom to think and do whatever I want, I still find the adjustment difficult at times.

Respectfully, Cate

• choosing life
    choosing life