Do circuit overseers pay income tax?

by tiffy0212 10 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• John Doe
    John Doe

I'm no tax expert, but in the US I would think it would depend on their income. There is a threshold below which you don't have to file taxes--5 or 6 thousand dollars as I recall.

• TheOldHippie
    TheOldHippie

Over here, they pay income tax, as do all Bethel workers etc. There is a government-set roof not to be exceeded as to the value of private work you can do for others or what you can received as income on a "hobby basis" (stamp collectors selling their collections etc.) and they fall within the same rules. Most pay the average 20-25 % of their income after certain expenses have been deducted.

• AK - Jeff
    AK - Jeff

They do not make enough income in the US to file. They are paid a small monthly allowance similar to the allowance that Bethel workers receive, and they get housing paid for by the congregations along with automobile and expenses. Likely they would fall below the threshhold even if all that was counted, but I am sure it all falls under 'missionary expense' or something similar.

I don't see this as a travesty - these people don't make large amounts of money [even if they take personal cash gifts]. They have it made, so to speak, but they don't profit much from the experience. And once they lose the 'privilage' they have nothing to fall back on - no house, no car, and they gave up having kids usually.

I believe most these people are just as mislead as all of us were. Freeloaders perhaps [depending on definition], but they are not getting off easy by not having to pay income tax. It wouldn't amount to much if they were taxed.

Jeff

• yknot
    yknot

Individual cash gifts up to $12,000 are not taxable here in the US.

What about the GB, do they pay taxes? They may not get a large "paycheck" but they do get cars, housing, air fair, gifts etc. Should all this not also be taxed.