Anybody remember when southern congregations were integrated?

by Texman55 10 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Texman55
    Texman55

As I think I recall, this happened in the fall of 1972. I was living in Atlanta at the time, where it was a nonissue, there was a very pretty black girl who was very popular in the congo there. But back in my much smaller hometown, there were still black congregations when I started studying in 1970....totally separate KHs, totally separate circuit assemblies. Not sure if they had a separate CO...probably not.

In fact my great uncle, the eccentric old guy nobody in my family had much to do with....been a JW for ages but not very popular in the KH either....had a little house directly across the street.....moody, cranky old cuss, but very independent thinker too in a weird kind of Russelite way....he got Df'd around that time and I think it had something to do with the integration issue. I remember stopping to visit with him once and him castigating the "yankees" and their newfangled ideas about things....he might actually have said "damnyankees" lol.....meaning the CO and the Brooklyn big boys etc......course he also wrote books of poems and self published them.....really baaaad poetry that went on for days....all about god's coming kingdom and how you should only eat "natural" foods, etc etc etc. Lot of non-WT-approved ideas there. Poor old fellow, I felt sorry for him, all shriveled up and bent over with arthritis....age 80 something.....but he had such a hard nosed personality, not a lovable old cuss at all, just an ol cuss....sad.