FIRST AID at the DCs

by tresdecu 19 Replies latest jw friends

• tresdecu
    tresdecu

The thread about the old woman who died at the assembly got me thinking about how first aid is run at the conventions. For many years I worked as an attendant, we were always instructed that, if there is a medical emergency to contact first aid and not to call an ambulance directly from the location. In the age of cell phones it made much more sense to me to call 911 right away (for serious emergencies) , if it's a stroke or heart attack time is critical. To sit there while a person is having a life threatening emergency and wait 10 min. for the 21 y.o MS who has a 'first responder' card makes no sense. In my mind they are liable for that direction. I think that could be a lawsuit waiting to happen...especially that there is documented direction from NY to NOT call 911...and call the untrained "brothers" in 1st Aid! (maybe some are trained, but they don't supply any lifesaving equipment)

Any opinions? Maybe someone who has worked in first aid.

• hillbilly
    hillbilly

I have seen some pretty good first aid depts. If they can get em... usually a RN, some EMT's and now and then a full fledged Doctor will be at a DC or urban Circuit Assy.

Of course, our old circuit had a farmer and a carpenter with a box of bandaids, asprin and a phone.

Jeff

• troubled mind
    troubled mind

My husband use to be an EMT-I and did first aid at conventions and assemblies for yrs . When he gets home tonight I'll get his response for you .

As for my opinion I use to tell him the same thing ! They wasted so much freakin time when it would have saved precious minutes by having the first attendant call 911 right away . It was all policy , following direction crap instead of common sense . I know he was frustrated alot of the time because they were so limited in what they could do because of liability clauses . But I'll check back later with his experience .

• NewYork44M
    NewYork44M