Can you think of a positive thing the JW's gave you?

by Greensleeves 20 Replies latest jw friends

• Greensleeves
    Greensleeves

This is something that will possibly piss off a lot of people. I left the JW family I was raised in when I was 16. I had a lot of angst and just wanted freedom. I spent some time in my early 20's reconsidering that decision to leave JWdom and came back to the decision I made at 16, but was more logical and informed that time around.

But there is one thing that helped me break through all of the doctrine and everything else I felt. I looked for a positive in a negative situation.

I have seriously looked at my past experiences with the JW organization, and I can see some benifits. Things I learned. Skills that actually paid off later in life. I don't want to hear anything about how they don't want you to go to college or anything like that. I went to College, I graduated.

To speak for myself, I learned;

The Theocratic Ministry School helped me with public speaking skills. This helped me in College.

I developed excellent reading and study skills.

I learned dicipline.

I learned much about ancient societies and history.

I traveled to different places and met many different people.

I learned morals and how religion plays a part in it.

What did you take as a positive from the Jehovah's Witnesses? Forget about the negative for a minute, and think about the positive things you gained in you experiences.

• New light for you
    New light for you

I agree with not being afraid to talk to anybody, or talk in front of people. and i was the most shy person in the word before, if i didn't get into the witnesses, i would still be sitting in a corner. They gave me tons of instant-all beit conditional- friends and made you comfortable talking to everyone.

I also like that we always were comfortable with people of every age bracket, i think that's from the hall as well.

• zeroday
    zeroday