Can you get disfellowshipped for anything?

by Solace1998 26 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Solace1998
    Solace1998

cant the elders make it so that any deviation or any thought could be considered "loose conduct" and therefore a disfellowshipping offense?

• almostbitten
    almostbitten

I'm not a JW, but according to the lady I studied with, it's hard to be disfellowshipped. This is what SHE said, but from I've been hearing and reading in here, you could be DFed for cracking a fart. Getting in trouble for associating with DFed members is what gets me. i think the thing that will probably get you in real hot water is showing signs of brain function and being open about it. If you're sitting in KH and a light bulb goes off in your head, better hurry up and unscrew it lest you be seen.

• Gopher
    Gopher
    cant the elders make it so that any deviation or any thought could be considered "loose conduct" and therefore a disfellowshipping offense?

Yes, if you're not on their list of favorite people they can make life hard on you (as many here know from personal experience). "Loose conduct" is defined as any brazen disobedience, which could even include disobeying the elders-- even if they're wrong. What the organization says is that people are disfellowshipped based not just on the sin itself, but on an UNREPENTANT ATTITUDE. The elders get to judge your attitude about things. THey can read hearts, don't you know? So if they don't like your attitude -- even if the sin itself was borderline or fell a little short of being considered for DF'ing, if you don't show yourself properly remorseful you can end up on the wrong side of their law.

• fokyc
    fokyc
    Gopher says: "disobeying the elders-- even if they're wrong."

This is a very common one, the elders in a congregation are a complete law unto themselves.

Even if they said, "Jehovah does NOT exist" and you had the temerity to disagree that would entitle them to bring you before a JC