A Doubting JW

by swyzzel 29 Replies latest jw friends

• swyzzel
    swyzzel

Hey all. I very much enjoy the website because I have been doubting JW's for years and now I finally get enough courage to check out what other people think. I am a third generation JW so I have been apart of this religion since before I was born. This leaves no room to doubt or even question anything. I got baptized when I was 15 for the soul purpose of pleasing my mother and that she would finally get off my back. Throughout the years I have tried to go to meetings regularly, field service, and even personal bible study but once I really got into it I found myself doubting why we do this? The holidays have always been a big question to me especially b-days.

Well, now I am 18 and in college (fortunately) but I still have to commute home and make all my meetings and keep active time . . . blah . . . but I hate this feeling that my religion is holding me back. I am a very good student and I feel that I could be better if I didn't have to spend so much time doing things I don't want to do.

I have faith and believe that there is Jehovah and Jesus and everything but I think we should all be allowed to choose how much we can take on. As you all know JW's don't give any lead way for that. Also what is up with women not being able to have any lead roles or even carrying a microphone?

As you can see my writing is rather random but this accurately reflects my mind. I cannot honestly believe that Witnesses are the only true religion out there. I definitely know that I don't want to raise my kids by already hindering them from what they can and cannot do, I couldn't bare limiting them. I am afraid, scared, confused in what I really want, and if it matters what I want.

Please help me. I need some answers . . . this is bothering me a lot because as you know it is a way of life.

• Fredhall
    Fredhall

Swyzzel,