Hmmmn..Intresting Convo with my DAD last NIGHT

by dirtyknections 29 Replies latest jw experiences

• dirtyknections
    dirtyknections

So me and my father who is an elder get into yet another rather tense discussions about the bible
    and my new found "beliefs". One of the things we discussed was my belief that the way we conduct studies...

i.e. watchtower, revelation climax, bible teach...is not really studying but forcefeeding and leading to an already pre-prescribed answer...AKA the student is not really learning with discernment and wisdom, but rather just repeating the printed "answers" in the paragraphs.

Me being a teacher by trade, I understand intensely what it means to "teach". Experience shows that just because a student can regurgitate what is read, DOES NOT IN ANYWAY mean that student understands what they just read. The only way to ignite comprehension and understanding is thru the use of higher order questioning...you know something akin to "blooms taxonomy"...instead of "who", "what", and "where"..more "what if" and "what do you think"..lemme give you an example..

"As I was walking, I saw a dog chase a cat across the road."

Low order question- What chased the cat across the road?

High order question- What are some of the possible reasons the dog began chasing the cat?

Higher order question- Normally cats are afraid of dogs and will run if pursued by them. What do you think would happen if cats were no longer afriad of dogs? Cats are also highly trainable. What types of things would you teach a cat so as to help lessen its fear of dogs?

In teaching circles we call this "stepping up questions"...the key is to go from simple understanding to "synthesis", "evaluation", and "inferring"